Modern Chemical Enhanced Oil Recovery, Theory and Practice


Yesterday, before I wrote the previous blog, I occasionally found a new book, Modern Chemical Enhanced Oil Recovery, Theory and Practice by James J. Sheng. That is the latest book about enhanced oil recovery I have ever known. I am not familiar with the author. I cannot find an introduction to him within the book. Thus, I searched his publications within OnePetro.org, which collects all the papers published on Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) journals or presented at SPE conferences. The system returned to 10 results, including 3 journal publications and 7 conference papers. To my lucky, I found a brief introduction to his education background and working experience. After having received his B.S. from University of Petroleum, China, Dr. Sheng pursued his M.S. and PhD. degree in petroleum engineering at University of Alberta. All the papers but one he published was his work with Baker Hughes, an oil service company headquartered at Houston, TX, where he worked as a research scientist. Now he is working with Total as a senior research engineer at Houston, TX. He published the last paper SPE 102659 on SPE Reservoir Evaluation & Engineering in Jun., 2008. Within the acknowledgement of the new book, he expressed his thanks to professors from University of Texas at Austin and personnels from Total mainly. It is possible that Dr. Sheng has joint projects with the UT. I do not have a chance to study the book, yet; since I believe a two years’ efforts with more than 15 years experience in this area could turn out a practical manual with theoretical explanations to chemical EOR technologies for petroleum professionals, especially for those who are working in enhanced oil recovery. One more thing, I am glad to see that he did not put microbial enhanced oil recovery in this book. Maybe he has the similar idea as me that MEOR is independent, instead of one of the chemical EOR technologies. The table of context of this book is listed below:

Chapter 1 Introduction;

Chapter 2 Transport of Chemicals and Fractional Flow Analysis;

Chapter 3 Salinity Effect and Ion Exchange;

Chapter 4 Mobility Control Requirement in EOR Processes;

Chapter 5 Polymer Flooding;

Chapter 6 Polymer Viscoelastic Behavior and Its Effect on Field Facilities and Operations;

Chapter 7 Surfactant Flooding;

Chapter 8 Optimum Phase Type and Optimum Salinity Profile in Surfactant Flooding;

Chapter 9 Surfactant-Polymer Flooding;

Chapter 10 Alkaline Flooding;

Chapter 11 Alkaline-Polymer Flooding;

Chapter 12 Alkaline-Surfactant Flooding;

Chapter 13 Alkaline-Surfactant-Polymer Flooding.

6 Responses to Modern Chemical Enhanced Oil Recovery, Theory and Practice

  1. Pingback: Modern Chemical Enhanced Oil Recovery, Theory and Practice « Zinan … - Houston Texas News

  2. Your site is very informative and helpful. This should be bookmarked by anyone who is looking for such info. Your site has been mentioned in one of the forums to visit and check out.

  3. Your site has been referred to me by my friend to get more information on such subject. Very good read I think. Thanks.

  4. Very interesting posts on your site. I keep on coming back to learn more. I have bookmarked it as well for future reference. I hope you dont mind at all.

  5. I like your theme. Will be checking it out to see if I can use the same for my site. Very interesting site as well you have here.

  6. Your site has helped me a lot to bring back more confidence in myself. Thanks! Ive recommended it to my friends as well.

Leave a Reply

