1000 Miles Drive(Part 1)


After I filled out the name of this post, I began to look for something related to the name and I found it is the same as the name of a piece of music by Jay Lumen. I am not going to talk about the song, actually pure music, but to tell the story that my friend and I drove 1000 miles from Missouri to New York.

In the evening of Jan. 12 2011, a friend of mine told me that another friend was going to relocate to New York by car. Then I discussed with him whether he could give me a drive. It was supposed that we should leave Rolla, MO after lunch on Jan. 14, actually we started the trip at 2:30 pm. I made a two-day trip plan. For the first day, I set three points, Terre Haute, IN, Indianapolis, IN, and Dayton, OH. I wished we could stop at the farthest point, Dayton, OH, where the National Museum of the USAF locates. If we could not reach Dayton on the first day, we had to stop at Harrisburg, PA. In the following picture, the blue line showed the route from Rolla, MO to New York City, NY.

Fig. 1 Route from Rolla, MO to New York City, NY

The first day’s drive was very smooth. My friend and I were surprised to see very few vehicles on the way from Rolla to St. Louis. Before the trip, both of us were concerning about the weather and road conditions after a snow. Maybe the same concern stuck others in their homes. When we reached the joint part between Missouri and Illinois, the traffic was some kind of bad. The fields covered by white snow out of the window made the drive very tedious. Sometimes, we listened to radio; sometimes we turned on the CD player to listen to some Chinese, Korean and Japanese songs. We stopped at the National Trail rest area for a while, where I read a friendly notice that riding on a train is much better than driving a car because of low carbon emission(That is not exactly the same expression, and my long-focus lense could not take a picture of the words).

Fig. 2 Icicles from Hills Besides I-44

Fig. 3 Gateway Arch, the Symbol of St. Louis

Fig. 4 Mac Arthur Bridge over Mississippi River Connects Two States

Fig. 5 A View of the MetroLink Passing through Illinois

Fig. 6 Snow-covered Hills inIllinois

Fig. 7 National Trail Rest Area on I-70 near Effingtham, IL

Leave a Reply

